Press Contact


The Scatterlings Release Second Album - “Being Human”
"Rustic, Rootsy, and Sunny-Side Dark"

the scatterlings being humanThe Scatterlings are a four-piece acoustic/Americana band based in Asheville, North Carolina. The band formed when vocalist and baritone ukulele player Elfy Kornfeld, guitarist Rick Russell, and upright bassist Terrell Jones met at The Berry Pickers, a weekly jam group. Later, Elfy met mandolin player, Josh Sill, in the grocery store, because in Asheville you are as likely to find a mandolin picker as a green smoothie in your local grocery. 

The Scatterlings however, sound neither bluegrassy (though there are undeniable mountain influences at play) nor green. There are folk stylings, astute songwriting, textural instrumentation, and the palpable chemistry of players who are happy to have found each other.

being human cover finalThe Scatterlings: Being Human - Digital and CD release October 1, 2019

Genre: Americana, Roots, Acoustic Country, Folk

For fans of: Natalie Merchant, Gillian Welch, Lucinda Williams


Find us on: cdbaby | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube | Spotify | Bandcamp

Radio preview/download at: Airplay Direct

Booking and general inquiries: Email us

  1. Mockingbird (3:51) With a rainbow looking down and clear skies ahead, always keep the storm in your rear view mirror... There is still hope for the hopeless, and the evocative atmosphere is spine tingling.
  2. Sweet Sally (5:36) When you're left with the constant reminders of a house full of memories. So much clutter, yet it's the emptiest place on earth... The path of affirmation is a long one, better get started.
  3. Flowers in the Garden (3:26) When two becomes one, the garden changes forever. The flowers are the pain. The flowers are the healing... The best sad songs are the ones that make you look up.
  4. Being Human (4:31) When life makes a monkey out of you, hang on to the one thing that makes you human, and hope that it hangs on to you... The melancholy instrumentation dances gently with a chillingly assured vocal
  5. Falling’s Easy (3:19) The circle seems neverending as the bridges burn in your wake, but you can always go home on your next spin around and start again... The eternal hope of a vicious cycle.
  6. Nashville Road (3:49) A rustic slice of Appalachian history, as a boy surveys his way into manhood. The imagery of a bygone era and the night the stars fell is brought to life in eloquent fashion.
  7. Dogwoods to Maples (3:44) When that which brings comfort is the very poison that destroys your soul. It hurts like hell when the harmony sours, but the alternative is worse.
  8. Bitter and Sweet (4:34) Booze is the serum of truth and the betrayer of secret love. Words of wisdom and regret... That floating mandolin will melt your heart.
  9. Let You Go (4:59) Sometimes you have to let go, but the pain of loss still permeates the soul. When pain is the only remedy for pain, a mournful, haunting melody is never far away.
  10. You’re Not Coming Back (2:51) Catchy tune about being left behind. Fortunately the bourbon was left behind as well.

band photo

Email:   Facebook:   Website:


Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Check out our latest album     Listen Now